Allergy shots are so worth it

September 25, 2009

Today at the gym my trainer’s eyes were red, he was congested and feeling miserable because of allergies. And I wasn’t. And it occured to me that I haven’t felt that way in a pretty long time now. And it’s amazing.

Shortly after my diagnosis in 2005 I began an aggressive regimen of allergy shots. Two times a week for the first year. Unlike food allergies where absolute abstinence is the only cure, environmental allergies like mine (molds, dust, dust mites, trees, weeds, grass, pollen, cats, dogs, etc.) can be treated with shots. The shots are not an antidote to the allergen but instead a small dose of the substance you’re allergic to and over time a gradual increase in the dose increases your tolerance for (or decreases your allergic response to) whatever it is you’re allergic to.

Two years in I was starting to feel some real relief. And then I moved to Chicago where I had to start the process over again. I learned there is no single allergy protocol and the allergist here had to start my treatment over again at the beginning. New needle sticks, new regimen, etc.

After a little more than two years with the Chicago Allergy protocol I now receive shots only once every three weeks. That’s like 16 times a year compared to 100 times in the first year of treatment. That’s a difference of 63 hours or more than 2.5 days back in my life.

And because of the shots I can go outside to enjoy them.

Or sleep with the window open.

2 Responses to “Allergy shots are so worth it”

  1. JimmyBean Says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. Judith Bowie Says:

    Excellent, informative blog. Hope others with allergies like yours find this – very useful. Hope to see recipes in the future and hints on where to buy what at the best price!


Leave a Reply

