Thank You Letter to the Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar

October 15, 2009

Dear Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar,

You saved my life again tonight. I was at my 7th work related evening event in as many days and for the third day in a row (and 6th out of 7th time overall) the food provided was off limits for me because of my food allergies. In my old (pre-diagnosis) life I never used to think about what would be served at a cocktail party. I’d pick up my glass of wine and dive into whatever appetizers were handy.

But these days, I can’t do the cheese fondue
or the puff pastry filled with meat
or the pigs in a blanket
or the mini sliders
or the cheese tray
or the cute little quiches

So I grab the glass of wine (or the rum and something) and stand around watching everyone else eat. But after one or two drinks on an empty stomach it’s time for my “in case of emergency” bar. Yes, dear Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar, you have become my standby, my go to food when nothing else is available.

Not too sweet.
Not too salty.
Available in and out (!) of Whole Foods.
Low in calories and fat.

Thank you.
I’ll say it again.
Thank you.

I couldn’t have made it through the last week without you.

Your most loyal customer,

Liz

2 Responses to “Thank You Letter to the Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar”


  1. i know the feeling all too well. just sat through a wedding where everyone was eating to their hearts content. and i sipped on some sprite. all night long…

  2. eireann Says:

    Nice.
    Remember to be thankful that you can indeed do peanuts.
    Best,
    E

    PS
    I too used to be saved by larabars, when I could do fruit sugars. . . And soon I hope to be delighting in my Beloved Larabar’s Cherry Pies. . . Soon enough . . . 🙂
    And Chocolate Coconut. . .:):):)


Leave a Reply

