When they named it Coconut Bliss They Weren’t Kidding

November 15, 2009

Going dairy free almost 5 years ago, I thought my ice cream days were behind me. I had tried Rice Dream but it lacked the smoothness that good old Baskin Robbins and Cold Stone Creamery had always provided. Because of my soy allergy, the “better” dairy free alternatives were off limits. I love Ciao Bella sorbet but it doesn’t take the place of a good old bowl of ice cream.

Browsing on twitter a few weeks ago, however, I came across a contest being hosted by @reluctantveggie from reluctantveggie.com. She was talking about a new dairy free ice cream that used coconut milk instead of the traditional non-dairy substitutes. I admit I was a little skeptical but I can’t resist an online contest so I checked out the Luna and Larry site she was sending people to (you can find it at http://www.coconutbliss.com/).

For maybe the first time ever, when I read the ingredients I saw that I could eat every single flavor. To my great delight a few days later I got the good news from @reluctantveggie that I was one of the three winners of a free pint.

Thursday night I took my coupon and ventured out to the deluxe Whole Foods in Lincoln Park. I knew they would have the widest selection of flavors and I was not disappointed. I bought the Mint Galactica which had rave reviews on reluctantveggie.com and scooped myself a bowl as soon as I got home.

What I found was the smoothest, creamiest ice cream I may have ever tasted. It might actually taste even better than the “real” thing. The first thought that went through my head was “this is bliss”….even without the name on the label there would be no other way to describe it.

Thank you Luna and Larry’s for making it and @reluctantveggie for talking about it. I have a new favorite in the freezer.

5 Responses to “When they named it Coconut Bliss They Weren’t Kidding”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Um, the chocolate hazelnut is AMAZING. We’re int he process of evaluating Sheridan’s diet and might need to make some major changes (including eliminating dairy), and whatever we do for him we plan to do for ourselves so we’re all on the same diet. I have to say, Coconut Bliss makes the future seem VERY doable 😉

    By the way, have you tried “So Delicious” coconut milk yogurt? Sheridan loves it – I buy the plain flavor and mix in a cube or two of his fruit purees I make him. Yum!

  2. osmobuddy Says:

    Hi there. We’re the new game in town:
    http://www.alkemieicecream.com/

    We’re using raw cashews and whole coconuts to create an awesome ice cream experience.

    Check us out & let us know what you think.

    Thanks.


  3. Hi Liz!
    I’m so glad you found us via @reluctantveggie and that you were one of the lucky pint winners.
    My life is much like yours in the food realm and I was thrilled when I found Coconut Bliss, and discovered I could eat all the flavors. Even more thrilled when I got a job here and found out what a fantastic company it is.
    I would love to know if/when you try our other flavors what you think.
    Thanks for the fantastic shout out!
    Kiley at Coconut Bliss
    @Lunaandlarrys


Leave a Reply

