I had a #glutenfree beer in a bar and I liked it

January 3, 2010

For the most part, I’m a social drinker but what that means shifted dramatically once my allergies were diagnosed. Instead of kicking back with a beer in front of the bears game with friends I’ve been forced to choose between a glass of wine or something with rum in it as I had determined those were the safest things for me to drink. Wine and a salad isn’t much fun when everyone else is drinking beer and eating nachos. I only recently discovered gluten free beer but had rarely seen it outside my local jewel or whole foods.

Until last night.

I met friends out at Glascott’s on Halsted and Webster in Lincoln Park and when I walked up to the bar to order a drink, there on the shelf with all the other bottled beer was Redbridge. Redbridge in all its gluten-free deliciousness. It’s pretty funny how few places carry Redbridge since it’s made by Anheuser-Busch but after last night I’m hopeful that’s starting to change.

4 Responses to “I had a #glutenfree beer in a bar and I liked it”

  1. Cody Says:

    No problem on the heads up and thank you for your’s on New Grist. Never heard of it, but at least I know what I am looking for now.

  2. Cody Says:

    It may have not been enough content to cause you problems, but Redbridge does use corn in the fermentation process according to everything I have read on it (I have not contacted them though). Luckily I can still do soy, but I feel your challenge on the rest. Good Luck out there!

    • Liz Says:

      Thanks for the heads up on the corn, I just confirmed it on the anheuser busch site. I can sometimes tolerate a little corn but I like to know WHEN I’m doing it so I don’t accidentally overdo it. I had noticed that I felt more bloated than I expected to when I had more than one Redbridge so the corn might explain why.

      Ah well, Redbridge’s loss will be New Grist’s gain (from the New Grist website—“New Grist is brewed from sorghum, hops, water, rice and gluten-free yeast grown on molasses”). Now if I can get more places to start carrying it 🙂

  3. Mom Says:

    Loved the pictures; ditto the info. My local Safeway has started carrying more gluten-free baking mixes – one with only almond “flour.” It’s a start, right?


Leave a Reply

