Coping with a #foodallergy at breakfast just got a little easier

April 19, 2010

There are only so many breakfast options when you’re allergic to milk, wheat, corn, and soy and I’m tired of most of them. I thought for sure my days of butter soaked nook and cranny English Muffins were behind me until I recently discovered gluten free (and milk and corn and soy free) english muffins by Food for Life at my local Whole Foods.

To be honest, it was almost good enough that they come in a package that looks just like the English Muffin package the non-food allergic buy in the REGULAR bread aisle. But it just gets better. They are the same size as regular English Muffins. Again, to the non-allergic maybe that doesn’t seem like such a big deal but after five years of eating ALTERNATIVE bread that’s twice the calories at half the size, the fact that these match the regular version almost exactly was nothing short of miraculous.

But then, I’ve saved the best for last. They pretty much toast up and taste just like the real thing. Check out the nooks and crannies.


I used goat butter which for me takes care of my dairy allergy but for those who can’t do any dairy, these would be great with any kind of spread.

Now if they could just make an allergy free cracker that tastes like a Ritz.

4 Responses to “Coping with a #foodallergy at breakfast just got a little easier”

  1. Lisa Jachimiec Says:

    What do you do if you go out for breakfast? I don’t even trust eating fried potatoes/hashbrowns because so many prepped products contain wheat and they are fried in heaven only knows what. I cannot eat oats either (even GF certified) so that’s out. I haven’t found too may places to be thrilled with me BYO-ing it but when there is not ONE thing on the menu I can eat, what alternative is there? I’m tired of having black coffee while everyone else is reveling in their food… Just wondering if you have suggestions. πŸ™‚

    • Liz Says:

      I only eat the hashbrowns/homestyle potatos if they make them from scratch. I don’t seem to have any sensitivity to the oil something is fried in but then I’m allergic to the protein in wheat not the gluten so I figure its harder to transfer. I’ve been very lucky (knock wood). I found out that fluffy omelets often have pancake batter in them which I find completely ridiculous so my breakfast go-to’s are eggs over medium, bacon and potatoes. Are you in the Chicago area? I’d be happy to make some recommendations.

  2. Mara Says:

    I am loving your blog! Now I have to get these English muffins! πŸ˜€ Before learning of my allergies I used to make english muffin pizzas. πŸ™‚

  3. Lisa Says:

    Ooooooo. That looks tasty. You had me at “nooks and crannies.”


Leave a Reply

