Allergy Free Bread…Finally Someone Does It Right

July 23, 2010

After my food allergy diagnosis, I spent a couple of years in a bread free world. I hadn’t been a huge bread eater pre-diagnosis but I did miss it. Eventually I discovered some of the what can best be called bread substitutes. Looks like bread, sort of tastes like bread…if you have been living with food allergies you know the brands I’m talking about. I call the sandwiches I made with them 4-biters ’cause the bread is so small the sandwich could easily be cut into a max. of 4 bite size pieces.

In more recent years, I’ve started seeing better looking breads pop up on the internet but when I’ve looked into the ingredients there’s always just a little something I can’t have. In one they’ve added corn, in another milk or soybean oil. I think it’s awesome how many gluten free (and more importantly tasty gluten free) products are out there but for people like me, those products work about 25% of the time. In late June I saw a post on twitter from @LeGardenBakery that offered an opportunity to win a case of their gluten free bread. I LOVE contests so I had to retweet the post and to my great delight I was the winner.

The bread came last Friday and you can see 5 of the 6 loaves I won in the pic above. More on the 6th loaf later. The first thing I noticed when I opened the box was how SOFT the bread was. It looked and felt a lot closer to my memories of the real thing. Thanks to the folks at Le Garden Bakery for double checking my allergies in advance. I’m happy to report that all of the bread they sent (yes ALL) is not only gluten/wheat free but also free of corn, soy, milk, nuts and any GMO ingredients.

First up on the weekend of bread (as it will forever be known)—-french toast.

I can’t remember the last time I had french toast. I’m sure it was years before my diagnosis. The Le Garden Bakery bread made for the most delicious french toast. Despite my best effort, I could not make the french toast last long. A divine breakfast indeed. Over the course of the weekend, I made grilled cheese (I am fortunate to be allergic to cow milk ONLY and can tolerate goat and sheep cheese) using a sheep cheese called Rustica that has flecks of red pepper (you can find it at some Whole Foods). I also did a roast beef sandwich and was thrilled to find a bread that could be eaten without the warming or toasting I’d come to think was a requirement of gluten free breads. As for the rest of the week, I’ve been enjoying peanut butter toast, regular toast, toast with jelly, and my old favorite cinnamon toast.

The folks at Le Garden Bakery suggested putting some in the fridge and freezing the rest so I’m looking forward to months of great bread.

As for the 6th loaf, I gave that to a friend who has celiac disease and he ate the entire loaf over the weekend.

3 Responses to “Allergy Free Bread…Finally Someone Does It Right”

  1. Mara Says:

    Oh how I love your blog! I appreciate the info. on this bread and am off to look it up. I’m so tired of stuff ALMOST being safe to eat and then voila…there’s corn or soy weaseling its way in. 😦 I’m allergic to wheat, corn, soy, peas and peanuts. I eat gluten free but I know I’ve been consuming corn and soy and I sure do feel it. 😦 Thank you again for your post! 🙂

    • Liz Says:

      Hi Mara, I’m way overdue for a blog post but in the meantime I can also highly recommend Rudi’s Gluten Free bread which is available at many Whole Foods stores. Two of the three varieties (original and raisin bread) are also corn free.

      • Mara Says:

        I appreciate you telling me about Rudi’s. I went to their site and located the original bread at a health food store. I’m so excited!! Your picture of french toast is burned in my mind. lol I SO want that!

        My Mom has cancer and I take care of her so after getting errands accomplished, treatments, etc… we want something quick to eat. It’s aggravating to find something that could work if it didn’t contain that darn soy or corn. I knew there had to be SOMETHING out there that didn’t need those items! lol Thank you so much!

        Mara


Leave a Reply

